What is the half-life of a city block? The block I live on is changing fast. Fences went up this week around the towering old Grimke school—built in 1887 and vacant for many years. A paid parking lot where club-goers blasted music, primped and made out before and after hitting the dance floor has closed for business.

This past year, along with painter Katherine Tzu-Lan and choreographer Kristin Hatleberg (both neighbors in my arts-focused building until recently), I’ve been documenting this place in anticipation of these changes. We’ve put together collages, photographs, and a zine. I’ve written an essay about the experience and 48 poems derived from observational walks during the Winter and Summer (one during each of the 24 hours of the day).

Our opening reception and zine release party is Sep. 5. at 6 p.m. Join us! There will be additional opportunities to walk and talk with us throughout the month. You can order the zine, a pack of 24 blank postcards featuring our 24 collages, or both in the Future Cartographic store.

UPDATE: Thanks to all who came out for the opening and made it a fantastic night. Here is the schedule of gallery hours and walks:

Gallery Hours
Thursday-Friday 5 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Saturday 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
and 24 hours, by appointment

Walks and Discussions with Participating Artist(s)
Friday, September 6, 6 p.m.
Saturday, September 7, 3 p.m.
Thursday, September 12, 8 p.m.
Friday, September 13, 11:59 p.m. (full moon)
Sunday, September 15, 9 a.m.
Thursday, September 19, 5 p.m.
Friday, September 20, 7 p.m.
Saturday, September 21, 1 p.m.
Thursday, September 26, 6:59 a.m. (sunrise)
Friday, September 27, 6:57 p.m. (sunset)
Saturday, September 28, 2 p.m.

Published by Erik Moe

Erik Moe is a writer and artist based in Washington, D.C. and the founder and Chief of Expeditions at Future Cartographic.